Mucus Apocalypse

aka Mucus Explosion aka allergy season debut. Can’t go running, can’t vegetable garden outside, don’t want to write, am physically miserable. May even be running a slight fever (do allergies cause fevers?). I even decided to take a Claritin (I avoid allergy meds as much as possible), and it’s not helping much.

Friends are urging the neti pot–but isn’t that kind of like drowning? You know–like when water accidentally goes up your nose in the swimming pool? Not a pleasant feeling. This, my friends, is another reason I love winter; snowy, frigid, icy, pollen-free, winter.

Ah-choo! That is all.

Update: Here is what I wrote on my FB status wrt my allergies (stay tuned as the allergy saga continues throughout the next few weeks)…:

  • I’m very allergic 2 oak pollen. It’s oak pollen season. I live on a street named “oak.” Oak trees are protected in Berkeley. Just looking out my windows into the backyard I can count at least 15 large oak trees. Just the word “oak” is making my scalp itch.
  • “April is the cruellest month” because it’s oak tree pollen season.
  • Cars outside are covered in a flourescent yellow sheen of oak tree pollen. *itch*
  • My friend just asked me “Don’t you have ‘oak’ in your middle name too?”
  • To which I responded, “HOLY MOLY! YESSS! My middle name is Hyung-Oak. SHEEIT. I have “oak” in my middle name. *itch*”
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Mucus Apocalypse

  1. Nate

    Neti-pot<Waterboarding<Drowning

    Feel better!

  2. Neti Pot! you are SO NoCal

  3. I’m right there with you! I’ve never had an allergy season this bad. I finally went to the doctor today and she suggested the Neti pot too. I’m not that desperate yet. She also said Claritin takes 10 days to build up to max impact in your system.
    And, she told me (really!) that it would all be better by May. Thanks, doctor.

  4. drfrank7

    A study presented at the American College of Allergy, Asthma, & Immunology meeting found that neti-pot actually increase your risk of sinus infection. Additionally, stopping neti-pot use was associated with a 62% decrease in sinus infections. The authors pointed out that neti-pots do provide relief of bothersome sinus symptoms, but that chronic use may wash away some of your bodies natural defenses and increase your risk of infection. Over time, constant use of the salt water in neti pots dries out the membrane of the sinuses. Moist sinuses are essential for our immune system to work and overly dry membranes prevent our immune systems from working optimally.

    We know for example that excessive mucous secretion such as a runny nose is often a protective response to prevent dust and allergens entering the lungs and sinuses. Our body’s mucous flow acts like a cleaner this way washing away pollen, dirt and irritants. So in a certain sense, just like drugs, the neti pot is suppressing the symptoms rather than removing the cause of the problem.

    Antibiotics are not effective either against sinus infections since antibiotics are not secreted in the nasal cavities and so cannot to help eliminate bacteria colonized in the nostrils.

    Many types of nasal sprays such as Afrin cause a vicious cycle of addiction. Thus medication can actually make chronic sinus pain and pressure worse and not better.

    One major key to treating long term bacterial sinus infections lies in treating biofilms. A discussion of the importance of biofilms in sinus infections can be found on our website’s blog page.

Leave a Reply

