Talisman, Transformed

whoa: my writing talisman

Only last week, I blogged about my writing talisman, otherwise known as my Zabar’s mug.

And just yesterday, while rinsing out my mug before preparing my Mariage Freres tea at my writing spot…the handle BROKE, clean off.

AHHHHHHHHHH!!!!

I didn’t scream. There are rules of strict silence where I write. But I did stand there, in shock, staring at the handle in my right hand, the cup in my left.

But I’m also really stubborn. So I continued to dry the cup, and made my tea as usual. And drank from the mug as I wrote….and had a good writing day to boot.

I don’t know what this means–I refuse to believe that my revision is at all cursed. My friends have mentioned that this means my creativity is explosive! Or that it cannot be contained. Regardless, it’s my mug, and it still works, and so far, my writing hasn’t been cursed. Also, the pragmatist in me knows that this is the reason the mugs cost all of $2.

And anyway, Randa and I can buy another pair of matching “writing/revising good luck” mugs when she visits NYC. This time, for our revisions.

If I were to continue my superstition: perhaps the Zabar’s mugs were not meant to be used for revision, perhaps they are only for first draft luck. Because hers broke as well, in the same way, as she revised her book.

5 Comments

Filed under Revision, Writing

5 responses to “Talisman, Transformed

  1. I think it’s just proof that the writing force is within YOU and not the mug.

    Yes, I truly just wrote something that cheesy. Maybe I need a mug of my own to put an end to this kind of behavior.

  2. I think it says something that you lost the handle, but the mug still works.
    Okay, so I don’t know what it says. It has to be good that it still works though.

    • @Liz: that is so sweet of you! I may rid myself of the mug, because it is SO annoying to not have a handle (apparently, mugs come with handles for a reason)…but for now, yes–it’s functional, and “holds water.” 🙂 Maybe that means my novel still holds water, too.

  3. Pingback: Talisman, part II: Revision | 80,000 words

Leave a Reply

