Imaginary Girls Giveaway!

Ziggy, absorbed in Imaginary Girls

My friend Nova Ren Suma wrote an incredible book, one that Publishers Weekly and the merciless Kirkus Book Reviews gave starred reviews. Most recently, it received a great review from the LA Times Book Review, lauding it a book “not just for kids.” (Makes sense. I loved it. And it’s been a long time since I was a teenager).

I wish this YA novel existed when I was in junior high. But better late than never.

I read Imaginary Girls on a stormy weekend and couldn’t put it down. As a writer, I admired the language and Nova’s expertise with setting–and as a reader, I loved Ruby and Chloe and the overall tension throughout the story. That I was reading the book throughout weekend-long Spring thunderstorms was even more fitting! Water is a prevalent theme throughout Imaginary Girls.

In addition to the aforementioned commendations, Imaginary GirlsΒ isΒ creeeepy in this fantastic way. But NOT in a scary-creepy haunt your dreams way. (Believe me, I’m the kind of person who can’t watch any scary movies, not even “Scary Movie”). It’s creepy in this “OMG, I love this book and want to know what happens and why it happens and why do I have so many questions and why do I want to swim in a reservoir!” way. I hope you all read the book.

Opening lines:

Ruby said I’d never drown–not in deep ocean, not by shipwreck, not even by falling drunk into someone’s bottomless backyard pool. She said she’d seen me hold my breath underwater for minutes at a time, but to hear her tell it you’d think she meant days. Long enough to live down there if needed, to skim the seafloor collecting the shells and shiny soda caps, looking up every so often for the rescue lights, even if they took forever to come.

It sounded impossible, something no one would believe if anyone other than Ruby were the one to tell it. But Ruby was right: The body found that night wouldn’t be, couldn’t be mine.”

But now onto business…!

In honor of Nova’s book release, I’m hosting a giveaway of a signed hardcover copy of Imaginary Girls.

Here’s how to enter:
1) Leave a comment below. You can say anything you want–e.g., you can choose to tell me why you want a copy of the book, or tell me about a beloved sister (I don’t have one, and have always wanted a sister), or simply say you just rrrreally want a copy of the book. Do fill out your email address when you fill out the fields in the comment box (it won’t be published to the world, but I will need it in order to contact you in case you win)!
2) 1 entry per person
3) The giveaway is open worldwide.
4) If you win the contest, I will email you for your mailing address.
5) Winners will be chosen by a random number generator.
6) I will be announcing the contest winner on the blog. None of your personal information will be posted, aside from your first name and last initial (or the nickname you choose to list in your comment).
7) If you are below the age of 13, please ask your parents to fill out the comment field with their information.

The deadline to enter a comment is July 25, 2011 1:00pm EST. The winner (picked at random) will be announced July 25, 2011 at 9:00pm EST.

Update: The winner is announced!

Scarlet reading Nova's Imaginary Girls

93 Comments

Filed under Giveaway, Reading

93 responses to “Imaginary Girls Giveaway!

  1. Yay! I really want to read this book and would love to win. Also, I love that your dog is so into it. It must be good. =)

  2. Jill K

    i hope i win!! i have heard rave reviews about the book, and honestly, I can’t wait to read it. I would be SO excited to win!

  3. Aha! I have six sisters, funny that you mentioned that as one of the topics! LOL πŸ™‚ You can have one..or two..or all of them! Hahah!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  4. While there are tons of book set in New York City that feel like home, none really have quite in the way that Imaginary Girls did with mentions of the Hudson Valley and going shopping at the Galleria – I loved it. The book is beautiful and worth every penny. I would love to have a copy of my own!

  5. I have one sister and she’s my best friend. I couldn’t imagine my life without her. This looks like an awesome book & thanks for the opportunity.

  6. Claudine S.

    I reeeaaaaally want a copy! :))

  7. Nicole J

    I haven’t been able to read this book yet but I’ve heard so many good things about it that I’m excited to read it! πŸ™‚ Winning a copy would be cool, too. πŸ˜€

  8. Let me tell you about my sisters: everytime I go on a trip they make a video of how much they miss me and send it by email. Everytime they make me laugh and cry at once.
    and that’s why I so desperately want this book. I don’t want to sound like a snob, but you know when you feel deep inside how much you understand about something? That’s how I feel about sisterly love. As if I get it more than anyone else could.
    grat contest! hope I win (I will light a candle)

  9. Mitch

    Your review has really intrigued me. I have wanted to read this book for a while but now I’m desperate to get my hands on a copy! I would have already bought it but I just don’t have the money at the moment!
    Anyways, amazing review! Can’t wait to see if I win! πŸ™‚

  10. why you want a copy of the book,I got a autographed sticker from Nova Ren Suma and it would be even cooler to get a hard cover copy of the book. (also I loved the book so much I reviewed it again since the first review was messy.)

  11. I also once wished I had a sister. But seeing my friends with some of their sisters, I’ve decided having a brother is just fine. πŸ™‚ And also, I reallyreallyreally want to read IMAGINARY GIRLS. Like, really really badly.
    So thanks so much for this awesome giveaway!! πŸ™‚

  12. I rrrreaaaaaally want a copy of Imaginary Girls. As for the sister thing, I was really close with my girl cousin as we grew up b/c we both had 3 brothers a PIECE. Plus, we were the only girls in the family of kids… so yeah, she was basically my sister as when we were kids. It was nice.

    So hope I win! πŸ˜€
    Thanks for the giveaway! πŸ˜€

  13. savanna ucinski

    I hope I win. I heard it was REALLY good!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  14. I am one of THREE sisters, and while this is sometimes a difficult thing (picture anything with three women involved), it is more times than not a fantastic thing. We are all SO different, have husbands that are mild and meek, but keep us in line, and professions that suit us. We are outspoken, will tell you exactly what we think, yet we would stop in our tracks if one of us needed the others. Being a sister is amazing, and something that we take for granted, but certainly are well-aware of how lucky we are.

    Thanks for this giveaway, great storyline, amazing author, and it sounds like one heck of a read!

    Lindsay
    http://everydayadventure11.blogspot.com
    horne.lindsay@gmail.com

  15. Ooooh! I keep hearing that it is amazing! πŸ˜€

    Also, I have 4 sisters… it’s not that awesome but you can borrow one if you like lol.

  16. michelle

    I am an only child and would have loved a sister in law….sadly got only brother-in law……and then I had a boy…….no females here but me!!!

    I wanna win!!! thanks for the chance to win!!!

  17. Love the dog pictures. I love my sister so much. She is everything I am not–patient, mindful and way more giving. Thanks for the giveaway. I want this book, just been too poor lately.
    Amy
    bookgoonie at yahoo

  18. Chen Chang

    Ooh, I would like to be entered to win this book! It sounds awesome!

    Hmm…I have 2 sisters. Beloved. Sure, why not πŸ˜›

  19. I don’t have sisters, so I’m fascinated by the treatment of them in books! Would love to read.

  20. Of course! I do want a copy!

  21. πŸ˜€ I really REALLY want to win. The only other book I have read that features sisters prominently is Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink and I want more! I have a sister and our relationship is….intense, I guess. We fight, hug, fight some more. πŸ˜€

  22. Sara Molina

    I only have one sister and she means the whole world to me. She is the only person I can turn to when other people try to bring me down. I can’t imagine a world without her, and sometimes when I do, I nearly burst into tears. That’s how much I love her.
    In addition, I rrrrreally would looove to have this book!!
    Hope I win.(:

  23. I had a cat who liked to bug me whenever I read, he used to sit on top of newspaper pages I read. It was annoying but now I miss him, seeing your dog reading the book reminded me of him!
    Anyway I have a sister and we often shared books. It’s nice to have a sister who has the same hobby as you are!

  24. Gina Hamm

    I would LOVE to read this book!!!! Hope I win!!!

  25. Camille

    OKAY. So besides REALLLLLLY WANTING TO READ THIS BOOK, I have a smaller sister. She can be the devil. For real. She can be soooooo evil. And mean. And she can just…I can be mad at her for days. Really mad. But there are times when I just can’t be mad, because there are times she knows I’m the only one that can help her. So, yeah. That can be annoying, but I know she needs it. ANYWAY, I really, REALLY want to read this book πŸ™‚

  26. Nikole Molina

    Other then, I REALLYYYY want to read this book, I have a sister who is- a great sister, a best friend, a sholder to lean on, and a great person, I couldn’t imagine a world without her. We may fight and argue, but at the end of the day, I know she’ll always be there for me. I would love to read/win this book.[:

  27. Gemma Sidney

    I would love to win a copy of this book… While your description was great, what really sold me on it was the fact that the dog clearly loves it πŸ™‚

  28. Sylvia

    I would really love to win a copy of Imaginary Girls! I can’t wait to read it!

  29. As long as you say it’s not scary in a horror movie kind of way (I like to keep my pants on) .. then I’d love to read it. I like the cover and I like the name Ruby and I like that your dog likes the book too.

  30. I’ve always wanted a sister too since I have two older brothers and we’re not that close. I sometimes think that it wouldn’t be like that if I had a sister.

    Thanks for the giveaway πŸ™‚

  31. I absolutely LOVE this book- would love to have a signed copy!

  32. My sister and I have always had somewhat of a turbulent relationship but through reading YA books, we’ve found some common ground which has brought us together πŸ™‚ I’d love to win so I could let her read this (I’ve already read it)

    Thanks for the opportunity to win πŸ™‚

  33. Rachel

    I’ve heard so many good things about this book and can’t wait to read it!

  34. Jay A

    While growing up my four younger sisters (and brother) were unbelievably annoying! Being the eldest was such a pain and almost every night I wished upon a star that I could be an only chlid. But now, we’ve been through so much and I absolutly cant imagine not having them in my life. We still argue about the tiniest, most insignificant things but I’d still do anything for them πŸ™‚
    I’d LOVE to win this book so me and my sisters could share it and discuss it over and over ❀ ❀

  35. Nate

    My older sister is supposed to have her 4th baby today –right now, in fact!

    When I was 5 she helped my parents deliver my younger sister in my parents’ bed –no hospital, no midwife– she just boiled some water and sacked up.

    When I was six we went minature golfing and she said “oh, it’s easy and teed off –full extension, like Arnie Palmer –sending her ball bouncing down Jefferson St.”

    And when we were older she taught me how to smoke and listen to The Doors, later she forced me into the school play.

    I love my bad-assed sister. (Please don’t pick me.)

  36. I have a lovely 17 year old sister who just yesterday called me and asked me for a book reco… a book that would be “addictive”. maybe this is it. just saying. πŸ™‚

  37. Sophie

    Thanks for the giveaway – I’d love to have a signed copy! (Maybe I’d share it with my sister :-))

  38. Joely

    Ah! Oh my gosh, I really want this book. I read it and absolutely loved it! Thanks for hosting this giveaway πŸ™‚

  39. Thanks for the giveaway!!! πŸ™‚

    imabookshark AT yahoo DOT com

    Mickey @ imabookshark

  40. Thank you so much for this giveaway πŸ˜€ And for making it international! I would love to be able to read this book, and to have a signed copy would be a dream lol πŸ˜€

    So now I cross my finger lol πŸ˜€

  41. I love this book so much! I would love a signed copy! Thank you for the giveaway.

  42. Emilia S

    I heard such great things about this book also. I really would enjoy this book and as well my friends, since we share all of our books.

  43. Oh my God! I really want to have this book. This is high on my wishlist. And you got a cute doggie there ^__^ Thanks so much!
    blackplum3(at)gmail(dot)com

  44. Stephanie

    Would make a fabulous addition to my 14yr old daughter’s library! She’s an avid reader and book collector, and these days I need all the help I can get to stay in her good graces πŸ˜‰

  45. I have one (blood) sister and a bunch of cousin-sisters and two adopted big sisters, one of which my parents don’t even know yet (we met online).

    Yeah.

    I seem to enjoy making my life complicated.

    busylearninghomeATgmailDOTcom

  46. Thanks for the great giveaway and thanks for making it international! I really want to read Imaginary Girls – the cover is awesome in a really creepy way, and I’ve heard it’s great! Oh, and the pictures are adorable (:

  47. Veronika Briseno / Ronyka7

    Hi I don’t have a sister just brothers I will like to win this book because I haven been able to buy it for one thing or another and I have read good reviews and I’ll love to have this book signed because I can go to any of the signing. Oooohh amd I really really really really want this book.

    flaka.077 at gmail dot com

  48. pick me pick me! i want to win the book.
    peter lieu

  49. Danielle

    I would love to win this book!!!! I’ve been looking forward to it coming out!!!!!

  50. Kristina

    I have a twin sister. She was born two minutes after me, making me the eldest. Were going to be freshman in the upcoming school year. Our freshman class is going to be the first freshman in the high schools since our town was founded. But we’re gonna be okay. πŸ™‚ I would love to win this book!

  51. I want to win!

    (Pretty please?)

  52. Claire

    I’ve already read this book but I LOVED it and desperately want a copy of my own!!

  53. I think this is the 8th Imaginary Girls giveaway I register in My luck hasn’t struck yet I hope it does now!!!!!

    Thank you ❀

  54. Sounds like a great book, would love to read it!!!

  55. Love the dog & book photos. πŸ™‚ I would love to win this book. How sweet to post about your friend’s book!

  56. JP

    I can’t wait to read this. I have a stepsister, but that’s the closest thing to a sister I’ve got. “Sister” in Japanese is “anebe.” Yep.

  57. Ariana Perdomo

    Omg first the cover’s amazing and lovely and well the story plot is super great
    Well for sisters I have to say I heart my sister/twin
    I don’t know what I’ll ever do without her
    I have more fun with her, O and she’s a reader too like me πŸ™‚

  58. Wow–what a powerful opening! I just threw my tea cup against the wall and hit the floor to beg you for a copy of the book. (See? I’m totally on my knees and begging: choose me, choose me! Rug burns, tea on the carpet, shattered mug…the works. But so worth it if I win!) πŸ˜€ I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy and share it with my friends and students. Thank you for the fab contest!!!

  59. Yolande

    Hi! Thanks for the giveaway πŸ™‚ I would love to read this because it sounds amazing and I have a sister too! πŸ™‚

  60. I have the cutest and most behaved younger sister ever. Sometimes it gets annoying how shy she is, but I still ❀ her. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  61. sam winters

    Uh! I have to have this book. It sounds amazing ❀
    I have 4 sisters, actually, but I only have this special connection to the one that's closest to my age. I'm really glad to have her and I can't imagine life without her.

    Thank you for the giveaway, it's awesome. πŸ™‚

  62. micia

    I have an older sister, there is a good relationship between us.
    Thanks.

  63. Tamara

    Hello there! I want this book. Very much because I’ve heard it is fantastic, and when a book is fantastic, it’s on my shelf. I have a sister, 3 years older than me, soon to be 18. We often don’t get along (what a surprise), but there are sooome good times πŸ˜€

    Thx for the lovely giveaway! πŸ™‚

  64. This is one of the top YA novels of 2011 in my opinion. It was beautifully written in a haunting setting, and Nova Ren Suma’s characters and their relationships were flawless. This book needs to be on my bookshelf.

  65. I’ve been wanting this book so bad! Unfortunately, my wallet isn’t as big as my wishlist. (And alas, I have no sister either.)

  66. Thank you for the giveaway! I had an ARC copy of the book and LOVED it, but I gave it away and have been meaning to get my hands on a finished copy πŸ™‚ And your puppy is so cute, which makes me want this book even more lol :3

    aprilxu2222@gmail.com

  67. I’ve been hearing about this book since before the release and it’s only been good things! I’m dying to read it, but I’m on a self imposed “book buying ban” until Fall. I’d love to win it!~

  68. Oh — I read the first chapter on line and it was incredible. This one is on my TBR list for sure & I’d love to win a copy. Thanks for the chance.
    jessieharrell at me dot com

  69. OMG i really really want to read this book! and i dont have a sister i have a brother lol πŸ™‚
    thanks for this giveaway!
    ps. the doggie is beyond adorable !

  70. Clementine Bojangles

    I read this book and loved it. I’d love to have a copy so that I could loan it out to people, though.

    One of the best books I’ve read all year.

  71. I like puppies. Yep, that’s right.

  72. therainhouse

    Wow… Imaginary Girls sounds super … intriguing. Yea.

    By the way, what’s the breed of the dog? =)

    Please put my name in for this. I would love to have a copy of Imaginary Girls in my hands. Thanks so much!

    Zoe Liew

    therainhouse17@gmail.com

  73. Awwww your dogs so cute!
    I really really want this book, even more after reading this blog!
    Thanks for the chance.
    ❀

    Mazz @ Words on the shelf

  74. Jo

    Ooh, I’ve been hearing such great things about this book!
    I’d love a copy…. and I’d promise to let my big sis read it after me.

    If she was nice to me. πŸ˜‰

  75. Jessica Arb

    I loved this book, and I would LOVE a signed copy! Thanks for this giveaway!

  76. I’d love to get a copy for my adopted little sister, who is sick of YA novels with flat, shallow characters. (And for myself, I must admit!)

  77. I’ve seen copies of Imaginary Girls “in the wild” and reached for them, but have always had to put them back. If I get this copy, that would mean I WOULDN’T HAVE TO put it back on the shelf; the thought gives me goosebumps. If I DON’T win this copy, I’ll have to get on the waiting list to read it at the library. That’s alright, I mean, I do it all the time, but FOR A CHANCE TO HAVE A COPY OF MY VERY OWN? SIGNED BY THE AUTHOR? AMAZING! Thank- you.

  78. Christian Kneisel

    i read the book

  79. The thing is, there are SOO many reason on why getting this book is mandatory! I’ve only heard AMAZING things about it, and I’m DYINGGGGGGGG to read it! I’m not that sure you understand how much I would like to own it. *crosses fingers* πŸ™‚

    Jordan

  80. Ash

    The cover for this book is so captivating.

    And I don’t have a sister either…but at times I wouldn’t mind having one.

  81. I have a sister, but we’re not close. I often call my sister-in-law my real sister :). I think every girl needs a sister, there’s something special about them!
    Thanks for the giveaway.

  82. I’ve heard SUCH good things about this book, and the cover is AMAZING. I’d really love to have a signed copy.

  83. Linda @ Most Important Letter

    Hmm. What shall I write? “I want this book because I’m a book blogger and I adore books and IMAGINARY GIRLS seems like an amazing read that I’d fall in love with” or “I have a sister who acts like a five-year old when, honestly, she’s my older almost-eighteen-year-old sibling” or “I REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY want this book.”

    I think I’ll settle for the last. I REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY want this book. πŸ˜€

  84. I would love to win the book–partly because it has a gorgeous cover and also because I’ve heard it involves magical realism, YAY!

    And also I REALLY WANT IT.

  85. Wonderful giveaway! Thanks so much πŸ™‚

    Well since I can’t emphasize it enough, I guess I’ll just have to do a little bit of spamming! I REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY would like a copy of this book!!!!!!

    -Lots of Love,
    Carina

  86. Claire

    Id love teo win to have a new poolside read. Thanks!!

  87. What did the puppy think about the book? Also “creepy in a fantastic way” is a awesome description!

  88. Kenzie

    I have two sisters: Jessica and Bailey.
    Jessica is thirteen years older than me and we could not be more different. Still, when it comes down to it, she’s there to support me.
    Bailey is only four years older. When we were younger, we fought like crazy, but we’ve learned that we’re really alike now that we’ve grown up. πŸ™‚

  89. I don’t have a beloved sister, but a very very beloved younger brother. He is so amazing and I love him a lot and I hope he’ll always stay what he is like now. He does have his little “puberty-moments”, but all in all he is such a sweetheart. πŸ™‚

    Oh, and I rrrrreeeeeaaaaalllyyyyy want to read Imaginary Girls. I still hope that one day, when I’ve read enough good books in the presence of aforementioned cute little brother, he’ll one day pick up a book himself and stop saying that reading is boring. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  90. Thank you everyone for entering! The giveaway is now closed (it’s past 1:00pm EST)–I’ll be announcing the winner later tonight! (And thank you for all the nice comments about my doggies–the top picture is of Ziggy the Wiener Dog (aged 14) and the bottom picture of Scarlet the Wiener Dog (aged 18). πŸ™‚

  91. Thank you so much to everyone who entered! Thank you to Ziggy and Scarlet for posing with the book so adorably.

    AND thank you most especially to Christine, my generous and supportive and wonderful friend, for hosting this giveaway!

  92. Pingback: Imaginary Girls giveaway: winner! | 80,000 words

Leave a Reply

