Book giveaway: 98 Wounds

Scarlet the Wiener Dog reading 98 Wounds by Justin Chin

I’m giving away a signed author copy of 98 Wounds, a story collection by Justin Chin, which is out from Manic D Press next month.

Along with the book, I’ll be giving away various accoutrements, all provided by the generous Justin Chin: postcards of his previously published books (Harmless Medicine and Attack of the Man-Eating Lotus Blossoms), and two signed pieces (“Fragments” and “Home”). The items are pictured below:

98 Wounds + Justin Chin paraphernalia

“A gay, punk-rock Chinese American in the age of AIDS,” the San Francisco Chronicle describes Chin, “[he] confronts all manner of hypocrisy.”

Justin Chin is the reason I slap myself when I veer away from the truth in my writing and dabble endlessly in vague, chickenshit language avoiding the heart of my story (i.e., the aforementioned “hypocrisy”). He’s also the reason I pick myself back up, as he has sent me several well-timed notes of encouragement over the years. All of which I have kept, and still read, from time to time.

Chin writes poetry, fiction, and nonfiction–and I’ve taught more than a few of his essays out of Burden of Ashes, which my students enjoyed as much as I do. Telling the truth has a way of garnering attention and admiration.

98 Wounds + poems, signed

Opening lines of “Burn,” one of the stories in the book:

“He has fallen asleep, passed out, is snoring like the last hog on earth, sweating like a lost marathon runner. His white t-shirt is drenched, the sheets and the pillows are drenched with his sweat. I want to sleep but cannot. I paw him, run my hands over his wet body but he cannot wake as I cannot sleep. I wipe his sweat off on m chest, I pull his shirt up and rub my face into his sweaty belly. I adore everything that comes out of his pores, his bitter toxic sweat, his stinky overheated body.

Our love is bound by chemicals. How I hold my arm out to him and let him run the vein into my vein. How beautiful my blood looks as it surges into the syringe, like a rare flower blossoming, and how beautiful it feels as he pumps it, chemical rich, back into me….”

And opening lines of “Sugar”:

“The diarrhea had gotten so bad that fucking his ass was like poking at an overfilled water-balloon with the jagged-edged finger of a chronic nail-biter. He knew this would happen, it always does. He needed help and he needed help fast. No bulking agents for this boy. He wanted something bad, something that would score his ass. He ended up at his dealer’s. At any point of your life, you might have to have sex with your dealer, so it helps to have a dealer you wouldn’t mind having sex with.”

Now on to the heart of the matter: the giveaway!

Here’s how to enter/how I will pick the winner…

  1. Leave a comment below. You can say anything you want–e.g., you can describe a “wound” in your life, or you can tell me why you want a copy of the book.
  2. Do fill out your email address when you fill out the fields in the comment box (it won’t be published to the world, but I will need it in order to contact you in case you win)!
  3. 1 entry per person
  4. The giveaway is open worldwide.
  5. If you win the contest, I will email you for your mailing address.
  6. Winners will be chosen by a random number generator.
  7. I will be announcing the contest winner on the blog. None of your personal information will be posted, aside from your first name and last initial (or the nickname you choose to list in your comment). If you see that someone else has entered the same name as you, please try to pick a different nickname to call yourself, just for clarity.
  8. If you are below the age of 18, please ask your parents to fill out the comment field with their information.

GOOD LUCK!!! (and even if you don’t win, I hope you buy the book at an independent bookstore (or Amazon)).

The deadline to enter a comment is Monday November 14, 2011 12noon EDT. The winner (picked at random) will be announced November 14, 2011 by 9:00pm EDT.

Monday, 11/14/2011: A winner is announced!

14 Comments

Filed under Giveaway, Reading

14 responses to “Book giveaway: 98 Wounds

  1. I would like to win an autographed copy of Justin Chin’s book to give to my brother as a special gift. He, above any that I know, would cherish it and enjoy every part of it. He lived in San Francisco for many years and his heart is still there although he no longer is on the west coast.

    Thank you for this (hopeful) opportunity and thank you for your blog!

  2. I have read of all of Justin’s books. He’s an amazing writer. I can’t wait to read 98 Wounds.

  3. Marisa F.

    [I can’t imagine trying to count my wounds, but] Justin is a great writer and I love and miss the SF writing community.

  4. Wounds lately are easy to come by. I love reading works from cultures that I am mostly unfamiliar with.

  5. I once dreamt of a book that featured, as its cover art, an image of the eyes of Buddha. Not long after that, Justin Chin was in town (Austin) promoting his latest book BITE HARD. When I spotted the art on the back cover, I exclaimed that it looked much like what I’d seen in my dream. I got a copy, which he signed, “Here it is. The book of your dreams!”

  6. I first heard Justin Chin read at a CalArts Visiting Writers. Since then I have collected his books and found solace and excitement in his vital, brutal prose. Telling the unflinching truth is difficult and he does not shy away from it. This inspires me to attempt similar directness in writing about my wounds, which are many and which I won’t get into here.

  7. Felicia Martinez

    i’ve heard so much about justin and have never read his work, heck i don’t think i even met him when i was at mills. that inexcusable. p.s. wounds hurt.

  8. Arlene T.

    I would like to win an autographed copy of Justin Chin’s book because I support all Asian writers. Pick me!

  9. Heather

    Would love to read his take on Wounds.

    I have a few wounds. Mostly the battle scars of cancer. I used to be ashamed and now I wear them proudly. I wouldn’t be alive without them.

    Thanks,
    HW

  10. Melissa

    Because I, too, would love to read his take on Wounds. (:

    ~Melissa

  11. swl

    Reading about wounds, entering them, finding out what really happened. It all seems right, and I would love to read the book. Thanks! SL

  12. Would love to get a copy b/c it takes me forever to get around to ordering from Amazon. Busy life, always. Thx for this giveaway. ; )

  13. Thank you to everyone for entering! The giveaway entry is now closed–I’ll be back to post the winner shortly!

  14. Pingback: 98 Wounds Giveaway: winner! | 80,000 words

Leave a Reply

