Writing Process Blog Tour

photo (5)

Margaret LaFleur and Vanessa Martir tagged me to be a part of the Writing Process Tour.

I’m supposed to answer four questions about my writing process and then nominate other authors to tag and post to their blogs.

Happy to participate, especially since I’ve not blogged in awhile, and need to pop my head back in here.

So…

1) What are you working on?
My novel. (I’m always working on my novel). And because it’s Summer, the time of year when I always run into writer’s block, I’m giving myself permission to work on short stories. And essays. The essays are the beginning of a memoir, which I have begun writing.

2) How does your work differ from others of its genre?
I hope it differs in many ways–with regard to structure, idea, diction, etc. But mostly, I hope I tell stories that haven’t yet been told before.

3) Why do you write what you do?
I didn’t grow up with anyone writing what I needed.

4) How does your writing process work?
With stories and essays–I come up with an idea or image that gives me some passion. Immediately thereafter, I think about how I will structure my essay or story. Once I’ve got the structure down, I am able to complete a draft. Subsequent revisions include investigating craft–like language and also theme and making sure there are several layers to the piece.

With the novel–it’s just write, write, write. And rewrite, rewrite, rewrite. I have thrown away two times as many words as I’ve decided to keep.

I nominate all of you to do this!

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. “I didn’t grow up with anyone writing what I needed.”

    I imagine a lot of writers could say that was a factor.

    I really liked these questions when I saw them a while ago, so I answered them (http://u-town.com/collins/?p=4779), though I wasn’t tagged (I was tagged later). I like that they’re clear, and there aren’t very many of them — so many internet list things just go on and on. 🙂

  2. Is the weather the reason I’ve had a hard time picking up my WiP this week?

Leave a comment