What People Think Writers Do

There is an internet image meme going around along the lines of “What People Think _____ Do,” the “blank” being filled in by variation occupations (entrepreneurs, producers, etc).

There is a screenwriter meme that is pretty close to fiction writing, but not so close enough so as to be satisfying. And a professor one that makes me laugh–because I teach at a community college, and that one, that one resonates.

I think it’s time for a “What People Think Fiction Writers Do” poster. But since I’m a writer, and not a graphic artist, I am going to put down my thoughts in writing, and not attempt photographic images.

What I’ve started needs some revision, but you get the idea…of What People Think (Fiction) Writers Do:

What my mom thinks I do: never make money and sleep on a park bench at night

What my friends think I do: sleep in, take luxurious lunches, peruse bookstores in the afternoon, and be reliably available for coffee/lunch/dinner/drinks

What society thinks I do: come up with an idea and while impeccably coiffed with a cup of gourmet coffee, write the novel in four hours in aforementioned coiffed state and in my spare time, go to an Occupy protest or fall in love.

What “investors” i.e., editors/agents think I do: never sleep, never shower, hardly eat, never FB, typing away with bleeding fingers

What I think I do: Stare at the wall all day, end up with three words.

What I really do: stare at the wall, fight back tears, write, delete all that i write, write some more, find a sentence i like, celebrate (tweet/FB/watch TV/drink before the self doubt erodes all joy), then write some more, delete all that i write, stare at the wall some more, believe that the wall will give me answers, write some more…and spend a lot of time on twitter/FB and watching TV, and procrastinating…go back and write, delete, write some more. somehow write three words a day until i have a novel in a year/decade

Update: My gracious blog reader, Jelena, decide to share with me her rendition of “What (Fiction) Writers Do.” I love it!

11 Comments

Filed under Funny Things, Writing

11 responses to “What People Think Writers Do

  1. Hi there!
    I, too, was looking for the “What People Think Fiction Writers Do” poster, and there was none. So I decided to make one myself. 😀

  2. How do you make one of these? I’ve been searching high and low of how to make one of these posters.

  3. I especially love the fiction writers one! I’ve been trying to find one for fiction writers (or writers in general) since I’ve started to see many other career ones pop up on my news feed on FB from my friends. I’m glad I stumbled across this blog! Thank you Christine and Jelena! 🙂

  4. I made it in Photoshop. I’m sure the others are photoshopped too, unless there is a webscript that allows you to generate them (I wasn’t looking, maybe it DOES exist).

  5. This post is awesome! As a fellow writer, I totally understand.

  6. Hi, I’m taking the last image for my latest post on my blog. Here’s the direct link to the post http://wp.me/paRvj-uo (it isn’t published yet, but should be accessible within minutes). I’m also giving you a credit link back. I hope you don’t mind. 🙂

  7. Pingback: The Writerly Blog Hop | Stephanie Nikolopoulos

  8. This sounds like me for sure, just setting up blog-still finding its roots
    writingforwhimsy.blogspot.com

  9. writing, it’s a breeze! but it’s also like you’re giving birth and its nightmarish. but whew, you get paid, and then you buy flipflops!

Leave a comment